Choose Your Own Adventure Book Club


Adult Book Club Discussion

Boys in the Boat

Please join us for one of our meetings of our Adult Book Club scheduled for Tuesday, July 9, at 1:00 p.m. and Friday, July 12, at 1:30 p.m.  We will be discussing the book "Boys in the Boat by Daniel James Brown.
 

For readers of Unbroken, out of the depths of the Depression comes an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most desperate of times—the improbable, intimate account of how nine working-class boys from the American West showed the world at the 1936 Olympics in Berlin what true grit really meant.

It was an unlikely quest from the start. With a team composed of the sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the University of Washington’s eight-oar crew team was never expected to defeat the elite teams of the East Coast and Great Britain, yet they did, going on to shock the world by defeating the German team rowing for Adolf Hitler. The emotional heart of the tale lies with Joe Rantz, a teenager without family or prospects, who rows not only to regain his shattered self-regard but also to find a real place for himself in the world. Drawing on the boys’ own journals and vivid memories of a once-in-a-lifetime shared dream, Brown has created an unforgettable portrait of an era, a celebration of a remarkable achievement, and a chronicle of one extraordinary young man’s personal quest.

 

Copies of the book are available for checkout at the library.

What:  Adult Book Club

When/Where:  Tuesday, July 9, at 1:00 p.m. - East Troy Lions Public Library
                                              OR

When/Where: Friday, July 12, at 1:30 p.m. - East Troy Lions Public Library


East Troy Lions Public Library Adult Book Club Reading List 2024

    

January: The Splendid and the Vile by Erik Larson

February:  Deep by James Nestor
 
March: Old Filth by Jane Gardam

April:  Yellow House by Sarah M. Broom

May:   Book of Lost Friends by Lisa Wingate

June:  Lessons in Chemistry by Bonnie Garmus

July:  Boys in the Boat by Daniel James Brown

August: Vanderbilt: The Rise and Fall of an American Dynasty by Anderson Cooper & K. Howe

September:  The Yellow Bird Sings by Jennifer Rosner

October:  The Book of Longings by Sue Monk Kidd

November:  Lady Tan's Circle of Women by Lisa See

December:  The Boys by Kate Hefner